The Chicago Cubs and Their Defensive Prowess

by Tyler Donovan

The Rawlings Gold Glove Awards Show was on Tuesday, November 3rd, and it was a good day for both Chicago baseball teams. The Gold Glove Awards are presented annually to the best defensive player at every position in both leagues. The Cubs led the National League with seven finalists:

  • P, Kyle Hendricks
  • P, Alec Mills
  • C, Willson Contreras
  • 1B, Anthony Rizzo
  • 2B, Nico Hoerner
  • SS, Javier Baez
  • RF, Jason Heyward

Baez won his first, and most likely not his last, Gold Glove, and Rizzo received the award for the fourth time in his career.

The Cubs Defensive Lineup with career Gold Gloves now looks like this:

  • Anthony Rizzo (4)
  • Javier Baez (1)
  • Jason Heyward (5)

These three players, combined with the other four players who were Gold Glove finalists, allowed the Cubs to be named the top defensive team in the National League, winning the first ever 2020 Rawlings Gold Glove Team Award. If the core of these players are able to stay with the team, considering their contracts, it’s not unlikely that there will be more of these awards coming their way in the future.